Ashore+The Moon the Sun and the Musketeers

2017,2018 / 103' / Portugal, Armenia / In Portuguese with Chi & Eng subtitles / Color
Select Screenings

Ashore

(Leonor Teles, 2018, Portugal , 82min, Colour, In Portuguese with Chinese subtitles only, DCP)
The little fishing boat rocks gently on the blue waves of the sea as the first sunray pierces through the sky in the early morning. The sound of the fishing net thrown into the seawater mingles with gusts of wind. This is the daily scene for fisherman Albertino. There are dozens of traditional fishermen like him on the river of Vila Franca de Xira, a small town in the suburb of Lisbon.

Life in the small town seems eternal, until one day when Albertino receives a fishing ban from the government as he fails to meet the minimum quantity required. Meanwhile, as his daughter’s marriage draws near, his wife finds him loss in thoughts all day long. In face of double troubles, old Albertino simply says: ‘the worst is yet to come? So does the best.’

The 25-year-old director Leonor Teles was the youngest winner of Golden Bear to have received Best Short Film in 2016 Berlin with Batrachian's Ballad. Following the mundane life of fisherman Albertino, this first feature film of Teles is shot in refined cinematography capturing the serene passage of time, leaving the audience a poignant sense of nostalgia towards hermee own hometown.

  • Scam International Award 2018 – Cinéma du Réel, France
  • Sheffield Doc/Fest 2018, UK
  • ACID TRIP - Cannes Film Festival 2018, France

The Moon the Sun and the Musketeers

(Vahagn Khachatryan, 2017, Armenia & Portugal, 21min, Colour, without dialogue, HD)
It is a small town on the border between Portugal and Spain. During the day, the city feels like a peaceful place forgotten in time, whose pace of life is as slow and calm as the steps of its aging citizens. When the night falls, the town turns into another world, where the streets are haunted by old souls who emerge from the dark to sing of mysterious rituals. When the bell rings again as the morning comes, the constant rhythm of the town returns. People come, people go.

The film quotes Le Citta Invisibili by Italo Calvino towards the end: ‘There are three hypothesises about the inhabitants of Baucis: that they hate the earth; that they respect it so much that they avoid all contact; that they love it as it was before they existed and with spyglasses and telescopes aimed downward they never tire of examining it, leaf by leaf, stone by stone, ant by ant, contemplating with fascination their own absence.’ Without dialogues, the film immerses us in every detail of the town, bringing its tranquillity, its profound history and its memories over the centuries to life.
• Taiwan International Documentary Festival 2018
• Visions du Réel 2017, Switzerland
• Moscow International Film Festival 2017, Russia

岸上漁夫+月亮、太陽與劍客

2017,2018 / 103' / 葡萄牙, 亞美尼亞 / 葡萄牙語, 中英字幕 / 彩色
選擇訂票場次

岸上漁夫

(Leonor Teles, 2018, 葡萄牙, 82min, 彩色, 葡萄牙語, 只設中文字幕, DCP

晨光灑在緩緩駛着的漁艇上,風聲交織漁網繞過海水的聲音,這就是漁民Albertino的日常。里斯本近郊小城Vila Franca de Xira的河上,有着不少這樣的傳統葡國漁夫。

日復一日的小鎮生活看似平靜,直到有一天,Albertino因捕魚量不足收到政府的捕魚禁令,加上對女兒婚事的擔憂,妻子發覺他掛起了一臉愁容。Albertino却淡然回應一句「最糟糕的事尚未來臨?最好的事也還在後頭。」

25歲的年青導演Leonor Teles,2016年曾以《青蛙與吉卜賽人》成為史上最年輕柏林影展短片金熊獎得主。在這部處女作長片中,她用劇情片般的細膩鏡頭記錄了平凡漁民Albertino的生活,影片滲透着時間流逝的詩意與導演對出生地的真摯情感。

  • 2018 法國巴黎真實電影節 – 多媒體作者聯合社國際長片獎
  • 2018 英國雪菲爾紀錄片影展
  • 2018 法國康城影展 - ACID TRIP 展映

月亮、太陽與劍客

(Vahagn Khachatryan, 2017, 亞美尼亞 & 葡萄牙, 21min, 無對白, HD

位於葡萄牙和西班牙交界的古老小鎮佈滿老人們的慈祥目光,時間和空間彷彿在日光下靜止。黑夜降臨後,小鎮變成另一世界,空氣裡彌漫起種種神秘氣氛,儀式的歌聲籠罩了原本平靜的老街。而當白天的鐘聲再度響起,人們聚集後又散去,小鎮再次回歸恍如永恆的節奏。

就如電影結尾引用的伊塔羅˙卡爾維諾《看不見的城市》:「關於波西絲的居民有三種假設:其一是他們憎恨大地;其二是他們敬畏大地,所以避免任何接觸;最後是他們喜歡自己出生之前的大地,他們利用大大小小的望遠鏡孜孜不倦地審視每一片樹葉、每一塊石頭和每一只螞蟻,苦苦推想自己杳然的蹤跡。」這部無對白的電影讓我們全神貫注地感受城市的一草一木,慢遊老鎮累積數世紀的寧靜、厚度與記憶。

• 2018 台灣國際紀錄片影展

• 2017 瑞士真實影展

• 2017 俄羅斯莫斯科國際影展